Haitian Studies Association

Past Events

Translating Haiti: On the Academic Job Market (September 24, 2021)


SEPTEMBER 24, 2-4pm PDT | 4-6pm CDT | 5-7pm EDT | 10pm-12am GMT

The second event in the Emerging Scholars’ Translating Haiti mentorship series, this event features a conversation among recently hired scholars from various disciplines and backgrounds discussing how they translated their Haitian studies research for the job market. In a climate of renewed institutional attention to racial justice, how have recent job seekers framed Haitian studies in relation to critiques of anti-blackness that tend to center isolated narratives of historically white nation states like the US?

An interdisciplinary roundtable will reflect on questions posed implicitly and explicitly by search committees on the relevance and generalizability of Haitian studies and talk about how they translate Haitian studies into their diverse disciplines. We will also reflect on the scarcity and precarity of academic employment which has been exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic and invite participants to be prepared to share their own experiences seeking academic employment.

The roundtable and Q&A with panelists will be followed by small group discussion in disciplinary affinity groups facilitated by panelists and joined by senior scholars. (This event will be primarily in English with intermittent Kreyòl glosses and bilingual breakout rooms)

Panelists:

Jennifer Greenburg PhD, THINK Postdoctoral Fellow, Stanford University

Darlène Dubuisson PhD, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, University of Pittsburgh

Nikita Carney PhD, Assistant Professor of Sociology and African and African American Studies, Louisiana State University

Petrouchka Moise DDes,  CLIR/Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in Data Curation for Haitian Visual Arts, Grinnell College

Jesús Ruiz PhD, NAS Ford Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship, Vanderbilt University

Moderator:

Irene Brisson PhD, Assistant Professor of Architecture, Louisiana State University